June 13, 2011

Gluten-Free Cake Mix

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:14 AM by inspirationsbysd

My cousin, who is on a gluten-free diet, told me about a cake mix available at Sultan Center that is gluten-free. While I was in the US I noticed that Betty Crocker had a huge selection of gluten-free cake mixes, brownie mix, and cookie mix which was perfect! So when she told me they have some at Sultan, I went to check it out, and it turns out what they had available at Sultan Center in AlSalmiya was from a different brand, a brand calledย  Pamela’s Products, so I got their chocolate cake mix to try out. Since we it was my niece’s birthday, my sister initially wanted to order a gluten-free birthday cake from Sugar & Spice so that everyone can enjoy it, but because we got this cake mix I decided to go ahead and take the risk of providing my cousin with a gluten-free cake on my niece’s birthday *gulp* lol

I honestly was not so sure I can actually make this cake, I thought it would probably not be as easy as regular cake mix, but the instructions at the back seemed quiet similar to regular mixes, although at the back of the bag the instructions were to add 2 eggs to the mix, but if you prefer your cake lighter you can add a 3rd egg, which I did because I do like cakes to be light and fluffy.

I also cut down on the amount of oil the asked for, I hate to use too much oil and 1 1/4 cup of oil is just too much, anyway it also says that you’re not supposed to over mix it so once all the components began to blend in I stopped the mixer, the result was a very watery cake mix and when I poured it in the pans I noticed a lot of bubbles forming butย  I went ahead and placed it in the oven.

Thankfully it came out GREAT!! It is by far the best chocolate cake mix I have ever used, and it is so rich and moist, I told my cousin I was leveling the cake, and tasted the crumbs lol and it was soooo good!! And I’m not a big fan of chocolate cake unless it is McCain lol I’m actually surprised because normally gluten-free products are horrible ๐Ÿ˜ฆ especially the toast! But this is a great product and I hope Sultan Center always has available at their branches, or else I will need to stock up!

What was available at Sultan Center AlSalmiya was Brownie mix, chocolate cake mix, and pancake mix from Pamela’s Products, but my cousin later sent me a picture of shelves full of Betty Crocker gluten-free cake mixes and all! I’m glad they have those to, next step to try out the Betty Crocker ones and I will update you guys with a post, as for now I will leave you with pictures of the chocolate cake mix by Pamela’s products.

It came out perfect, dark, and moist!

The Betty Crocker Gluten-free range

Luv,

Sara D.

5 Comments »

  1. Madame C said,

    Thank you, my dearest Saroona for this lovely cake. Not since Miami in ’85 did I taste anything so rich and fudgey! And yes, my taste buds remember ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Madame C: wow im flattered ma3na ma sawait shay lol its all in the mix ๐Ÿ˜› hehe cant believe u would remember how food tasted in the 80’s ๐Ÿ˜› mashalla lol

  2. LadyB said,

    Looks good, teslam eidej ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. There needs to be more gluten free recipes. Thanks for your efforts.


Leave a Reply

