April 24, 2011

Bridal Gown Preservation and a Giveaway!! (closed) :D

Posted in Uncategorized, Wedding dress at 1:09 AM by inspirationsbysd

Hey guys, I have exciting news!! First of all, I posted awhile back that I will be preserving my bridal gown and that I have chosen to do it at J. Scheer, well I finally managed to drop it off at their branch in New York. I dropped it off in January 2011, and they told me it will take about four months, and I just received my gown yesterday! I swear I felt like a kid I could not wait to open the box, even though I had to wait for the instruction packet that they sent separately lol

But let me start at the very beginning of the process, I contacted them to inform them that I was interested in having my gown preserved and they asked me to send them details on the dress. So I sent them a picture of the dress, as well as the fabric and any details (appliquΓ© etc) and they informed me that it would cost around $900 to get it done. I had a gift card from Amsale, which reduced the price to $795.

Why preserve your gown? When I got my dress, I knew right away that I will have it preserved. I always had this romantic notion that one day my daughter or niece might wear it (although my mom believes no one will be able to fit in it lol) and in order for me to keep that dress in good shape, I had to preserve it. I did ask the people around me for bridal gown preservation services in Kuwait, and most brides informed me that they just had theirs dry cleaned and hanging in the closet, only one bride informed me that she did hers at AlOstura for 500 KD= $1600 (anyone know more about their service?) (update: my friend called AlOstoura, and they informed her that their services start from 65KD up to 200 KD) but really for me, personally, it is not everyday that I splurge on a piece of garment like that, and it also has sentimental value that I do not want to take a risk at just dry cleaning it, and I have mentioned before hanging it in the closet will eventually damage the gown. Most gowns are very heavy and gravity will take its toll and pull at the fabric, and storing it in a plastic bag also can result in yellowing the fabric. Ok, so if I still haven’t made it clear why I would spend $795 on just preserving my gown, I can compare it to insuring your expensive car! When I used to have a nice car, I never went out driving that car without making sure it was fully insured (meaning I’d spend $2000 annually on insurance) so if you’d spend this much on car insurance, why not an expensive piece of fashion? πŸ˜€ I keep telling my husband, some Β people are car fanatics, and I’m a fashion fanatic so I take care of my clothes like people take care of their cars lol

Anyway, the preservation should keep your gown safe from dust, fire, mold etc and has a lifetime warranty, the dress is kept in a box used in museums to preserve important historical garments.

So here is the exciting news I’ve kept you waiting for! lol I am giving away $100 J. Scheer gift card (they take international orders) and you don’t really have to be a bride to actually take advantage of their services or enter the giveaway, you can preserve whatever valuable garment you own (such as your baby’s first Eid dress, Christening gown etc) oh and the prices for the preservation services vary depending on the garment, so it is not always $700+ Β (scroll down for the giveaway rules!!)

I’ll leave you with some pictures of my dress after preservation, and a picture of my friend Kerry’s mother in her beautiful vintage bridal gown πŸ™‚

The giveaway gift card ...scroll down for rules!

My preserved gown...finally!!

My gown preserved

Kerry's mother in her beautiful bridal gown, the fabric was imported from France and this was in 1957

Giveaway rules:

– all you have to do is comment below (on this post), just comment on anything you’d like and you’ll automatically enter the contest.

– The winner will be picked by using random.org and this giveaway is open to all my readers worldwide.

– Last day to enter the contest is May 10th, 2011

– The winner will be chosen at random through random.org on May 12, 2011

Luv,

Sara D.

Note: the card was included with my instruction packet, so I decided to give it away to one lucky reader πŸ™‚

34 Comments

  1. D. said,

    Looove the vintage dress !

    • D. I know, its very pretty…I’d wear it today…some dresses are classic and never go out of style πŸ™‚

  2. D. said,

    Can you please also post pictures of wedding dresses with sleeves ( Preferably long) my wedding is coming up (inshallah) and i really want a long sleeved dress but cant seem to find anything im in love with

    • D. Mabrook! Thats great πŸ˜€ I will do that, thats a good topic for a post, thanks! πŸ™‚

  3. LadyB said,

    I loved the idea, you don’t have a picture of your own dress im just curious πŸ˜›

  4. LadyB: thanks! πŸ™‚ hehe I wrote a post on my experience while picking out my dress and have posted pictures of the model wearing it (wayed a7la 3alaiha lol) here is the link http://inspirationsbysd.com/2010/07/11/designers-amsale/

  5. Sherifa said,

    WOW! u really are a fanatic – I would preserve my dress but not for that price. I love my dress sooooo much – I didn’t do anything to it – I just gave it to my mom and she hung it in one of her storage cupboards. I always think about it and keep saying I should do something coz its soooo beautiful it would be a shame to let it get damaged. I thought o selling it second hand or renting it out. Al-Oustoura price is rediculous and its a shame I don’t live in New York. I think its wonderful that you preserved your dress – even though I think your mom is right – no one will ever wear it – every bride wants to wear something new or “in” at her own time. I know I wouldn’t have wore my mom’s. But as you said – its the sentiment. I hope one day I will do something with my dress….someday soon. You inspired me πŸ™‚

    • Sherifa: 7aram you sell it, or even renting it out (even though I believe there is a place in gallaria 2000 that rents out couture bridal gowns) yea, both my sister and I believe our daughters should wear something even better than what we wore for our weddings …but you know, I actually know someone in Kuwait who wore her mother’s gown and it was beautiful πŸ™‚ but anyway…even if they don’t wear it…its a nice thing to pass down to your kids πŸ™‚

  6. Kerry Sellers said,

    Lovely article Sara. Looks like a good business to get into here.

    • Kerry: thanks! and I agree, actually told my husband that he should look into it…but he thought no one would be interested in preserving their dress in Kuwait…there is no market for it lol I’m like u only think like that because it isnt the normal practice YET :/

  7. Om pingu said,

    Im commenting :p and i really luv that pic of kerrys mom. Perfect πŸ™‚

  8. Anno said,

    Hi Dear Sara,
    i realy loved th idea of preserving a wedding dress actualy i never thought this method exsist ,,NW i can tell pretty sure that am out of ths loop^v^ as far as i know preserved th fur!!!!!
    thnx 4 th great inspirations&well done;)

    • Anno: hehe thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚ it seems that bridal gown preservation is not so popular in Kuwait :/

  9. ims85 said,

    lol males can enter the giveaway? πŸ˜€

    The pic is amazing!

  10. Sherifa said,

    thanks for the info – maybe I’ll check it out sometime…and really? a girl wore her mom’s dress? would have loved to see that!! when I was in college I used to
    wear my mom’s 70’s clothes – everyone would ask me where I get my clothes from – it was early 90’s when 70’s fashion came back in. It was awesome, but a wedding gown is a whole other issue.

    • Sherifa: ee I always loved my mom’s clothes and wish she’d kept more of them :/
      but yea, her mother’s dress was so beautiful actually πŸ™‚

  11. LadyB said,

    Just checked out the picture, it looks soo pretty p akeed 3alaik kan a7la πŸ˜‰

  12. Noufy said,

    its really great idea am sad for my wedding gown left out in the wardrobe :S thanks for sharing :**

    • Noufy: thanks! πŸ™‚ its never too late to have it preserved, my friend just called AlOustora and they informed her that their service starts from 65 KD up to 200 KD depending on the dress πŸ™‚

  13. anash said,

    Thanks for this splendid giveaway. your dress looks so fabulous!!

  14. Dear Romeo said,

    you reallya re in love with your dress ;Pp~
    bs really zain ma swaity πŸ˜‰

    • Dear Romeo: haha I am ;P but I love most of my clothes waay too much anyway πŸ˜› thanks! πŸ™‚

  15. pistachio said,

    love the giveaway πŸ˜‰

  16. Sherifa said,

    Just wanted to give you an update : I went to Salmiya a couple days ago including Galery 2000 as you recommended to try to get a bargain on my dress. They were all snobby and said “we don’t buy, we have our own designer” – whatever. So I concluded that this is a sign, I have to preserve my dress. So I called the guy from Al-Oustora & he gave me the address of “Delicates” – to my surprise I knew that laundry existed, I just never knew they were partners with Al-Oustora and that they had such service. I’m sure you heard of them, they always send messages about repairing “marka” bags e.g. LV/ Gucci etc…So I went to them with me dress and they said it costs KD95 to preserve and put in a bag. The box alone would cost KD 80 and they have to order it from abroad. So, since i plan to store it for many years and with weather like ours I was sure I had to have it in a box, plus the box is more compact so takes less space for storage. So I paid KD 175 and they will be delivering it to me on the 17th in a box πŸ˜€ I feel great that I finally did this. Its been a burden all those years (5 years) that I never even took it to the dry cleaners and I was always worrying about whats gonna happen to my couture dress and what a shame that it will become withered/tattered/faded with the years (the image of the dress from Great Expectations always comes to mind). THANK YOU SARA D. for this wonderful inspiration… and it came just in time with the Royal Wedding – so that was a double effect! LOL!

    • Sherifa: hehe I’m sorry they were snobby, I have no idea why people working in stores think they need to be snobby with customers! No matter what they ask for, why can’t they go about it nicely? :/ I’ve never been to that store…I just know about it through a customer (like I said, she rented a dress from there). As for Delicates, yes I have heard of this place, and knew it was part of al-astoura (mashalla they own most of the stores in kuwait lol) i’m actually thinking of going there to repair some of my designer clothes there…so let me know how their service is, thats great that u ordered it with the box, cause the box itself helps with the dress’s longevity oo i know how u feel, lana ana it took me forever to get it to NY and have it preserved! lol even though I had planned on doing it way before the wedding even! I finally dropped it off on January and it feels like such a relief to know its taken care of and you can store it and forget about it …they actually recommend that u pull it out once a year to inspect it, to check if there are any discoloration and such so u can get it fixed before it gets worse…but thats too much care i think πŸ˜› and 175 KD is not bad at all, I paid a little over what u paid…bs wallah its great lana its in kuwait also…might pass them by to write a post about them πŸ™‚

  17. Sherifa said,

    Yeah, I thought the price was quite reasonable too – sure I’ll let you know how it turns out πŸ˜‰

  18. Ad said,

    WHAT A GENEROUS GIVEAWAY πŸ˜‰
    THAT’S SWEET OF YOU

  19. Henria O. said,

    I would love to be able to do this for my gown! Thanks for the chance to win this awesome prize!

  20. […] winning but speaking of winning, I wanted to announce the winner of the J. Scheer gift card giveaway. I chose the winner through random.org, by using the list randomizer, I figured whoever is going to […]


Comments are closed.

