January 28, 2011

Is Your Shampoo Paraben Free?

Posted in In My Purse, Uncategorized at 12:08 AM by inspirationsbysd

Awhile back I was shopping and was stopped by one of the salesmen at Henri Bendel, I normally would avoid salespeople like a plague but the product he had looked interesting. First of, the name of the product is “Barista” which quickly caught my attention even though I am not a big coffee drinker lol but the smell was intoxicating! He explained to me how coffee based products are actually great at cleansing the skin and hair, and its Paraben, Sulfates, Phthalates free!

Well, how harmful is the chemical “paraben”? Paraben is used as a preservative in most commercial based products, most of the products we use on our skin on daily basis would most likely contain paraben along with other chemicals. Even though I am not a health freak, the fact that the skin is the largest organ in our body I am quiet concerned with what I put on it these days, so it is not such a bad idea to start checking if your products are free of these chemicals.

Back to Barista, I got the travel pack which contained I believe 4 bottles (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion) so what did I think of the Barista line? The shampoo and shower gel are divine, they smell great a great wake up call in the morning shower and the smell does not linger on your body. The downside? I did not like the body lotion, even though I have super dry skin I felt that the lotion was too heavy and was not absorbed into my skin as quick the same thing goes to the conditioner, it just didn’t do much for me and I do not even have dry hair!

An other product I enjoyed is eos, they have a line of body lotions and lip balms which are Gluten-free, Paraben-free,  Petrolatum-free,  Phthalate-free! Phew! That was a long list! Sometimes I think they just like to jam in anything that their product is NOT made of 😛 I have been using their lip balm and I like it, even though I am pretty picky with my lip balm but this one goes on smoothly, does not dry out and does not have the waxy texture that some balms have and it smells nice.

So, what kind of “healthy” beauty products are you into?

Luv,

Sara D.

3 Comments »

  1. Om Pingu said,

    i like the eos too..wow gluten free even! perfect incase u eat it 😛

  2. […] am not Oprah! Because you may not know this since my blog is dead quiet but the previous post I and previous post II have stirred up a riot on my facebook page over whether we should obsesses over these things or […]


Leave a Reply

