July 17, 2010

Celebrity Weddings: Carrie Underwood

Posted in Celebrity Wedding, Wedding dress at 10:28 PM by inspirationsbysd

Carrie Underwood tied the knot last week to Mike Fisher, the idol star wore a Monique Lhuillier wedding gown. Her dress was big, just as she had announced, the bodice is sheer with a voluptuous skirt. She changed into an after party dress, which was also designed by Lhuilier, the idol star said she wanted to “get my boogie on” thus the second change.

Most brides are doing that now a days, changing into a simpler dress at night to continue the celebrations. I wonder if this trend will catch on in Kuwait? Should a bride change her dress for the after party? I personally was planning on doing that, but realized a bride gets to wear her dress only once in her life, might as well enjoy it!

Here is Carrie Underwood on her wedding day:

wearing her after party dress, designed by Monique Lhuillier 🙂

Although I normally go gaga over Monique Lhuillier’s dresses, this simply did not do it for me. It might be the sheer lace bodice, most brides are choosing this style, but I never really liked it.

Monique Lhuillier’s dresses are very dainty and romantic, she uses the most interesting fabrics, her dresses are truly timeless. She was years back one of my dream designers. I had once dreamt of wearing a wedding dress designed by her, even though I never wanted to have a wedding lol! But simply lovely! Here are some shots from her new Spring 2011 collection and older as well.

What do you think of Carrie’s dress? Hit or miss?

Luv,

Sara D.

2 Comments »

  1. ansam518 said,

    One of her dresses looks like yours! Sheway ghair bas ya3ni 😉

    • Ansam: She has one that kinda looks exactly like mine, but didn’t post a picture of it…and it comes in colors as well (for an evening gown version ya3nee) so when we were shopping for my sister’s dress the sales lady brought the Monique dress that looks like mine but in red for my sister to try lol i was like “oh no this one is going back!! That’s the bride’s dress and I don’t want to see it on anyone” lool I was soo worried that one of my guests would show up with the Monique dress bs ashwa my wedding was too small for such a huge dress :PP


Leave a Reply

